Is marijuana legal in Wyoming. No. All levels of marijuana possession are illegal in Wyoming. The possession of 3 ounces or less is a misdemeanor, punishable by 12 months in prison and up to $1,000 in fines. Possession of more than 3 ounces is a felony, punishable by 5 years incarceration and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Updated September 2019
Hemp-derived CBD products are legal under Federal Law in the United States; however, individual state laws are dynamic and fluid. Individual states may enact their own laws governing hemp-derived CBD.
In 2017, the Wyoming Legislature passed House Bill 230, which allows farmers to grow and sell hemp for experimentation and research. The program is overseen by the Wyoming Department of Agriculture, which is currently drafting rules and regulations. Interested farmers will have to obtain a license from the Department of Agriculture.
An effort was made by advocates to prepare a medical marijuana ballot initiative, but the campaign failed to collect enough valid signatures.
Stay up to date on the latest state legislation, referendums, and public opinion polls. Our Marijuana Legalization Map allows you to browse the current status of medical and recreational marijuana laws in other U.S. states and territories.
Wyoming is among the states that are most resistant to the movement toward full legalization of marijuana in the United States. In July 2015, a bill authorizing the use of hemp extracts was passed, but little other progress has been made, and all forms of marijuana use and possession are still considered criminal acts. Learn more about Wyoming marijuana laws below.
Comprehensive medical marijuana has yet to be established in Wyoming. The Wyoming State Legislature passed House Bill 0032, which allows Wyoming residents diagnosed with intractable epilepsy to medically use hemp extract under the supervision of a Wyoming neurologist. A registration card must be renewed annually. The law, which took effect July 1, 2015, offers little benefit to the people of Wyoming. Not only is it limited to those diagnosed with epilepsy, but also hemp extracts are already federally legal to use and consume throughout the United States.
It is illegal to cultivate any amount of marijuana in Wyoming, despite whether it’s for commercial, research or personal use purposes.
With more states legalizing the use of marijuana it can be hard to stay up to date on Wyoming marijuana laws. Click to learn more about marijuana laws in WY!
Updated on January 30, 2019. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Unfortunately, Wyoming medical marijuana law fails to address this question. There is no provision that allows for the production of CBD within the state’s borders. There are also no active dispensaries in Wyoming.
Possession of more than three ounces is considered a felony in the eyes of the law in Wyoming. This offense could land you in prison for up to five years. The fine is a staggering $10,000. Sale or distribution — no matter what the amount — carries a prison sentence of up to 10 years and a fine of as much as $10,000. Even possessing paraphernalia can result in a six months in jail and a fine of $750.
Advocates of a sensible Wyoming medical marijuana program tried to put the issue to a vote for the 2018 election but fell short. They were unable to obtain the number of signatures needed to put a measure on the ballot. As a result, the earliest that the citizens of Wyoming would be able to vote on the issue would be 2020. It appears that a petition effort could eventually succeed because a Wyoming News survey taken in 2016 showed that 81 percent of voters in the state favored a true medical marijuana program.
As legislation changes in Wyoming, check back to this section for information about how those legislative changes will affect the prospect of medical marijuana in Wyoming.
Even though the same Wyoming Newspoll referred to earlier also showed that 72 percent of Wyoming voters are in favor of decriminalizing possession of small amounts of pot, Wyoming marijuana laws continue to be among the harshest in the country. If you are simply caught being under the influence of pot, you could, incredibly, face a jail sentence of up to six months and a fine of as much as $750. If you are caught with three ounces of weed or less, you could spend a year in jail and be assessed a fine of up to $1,000.
The patient or parent/guardian has to submit a statement from a neurologist to the Wyoming Department of Health to be able to obtain the card. This statement must specify that the patient has a seizure disorder or severe epilepsy and that he or she may realize a medicinal benefit from using CBD oil.
The law permits people suffering from seizure disorders to possess “hemp extract” that cannot contain more than 0.3 percent of THC. To qualify, they must have a written recommendation from a certified neurologist who has tried other treatment options that have proven ineffective. Minors can use CBD oil, but the law holds their parents or guardians responsible for that use.
So, to obtain the medicine they need, patients have to travel to a state where CBD can be legally purchased. Not only is this an incredible burden, but it also puts patients at the risk of violating federal law by transporting a controlled substance across state lines.
The Wyoming Medical Marijuana Library – Learn about who qualifies for medical marijuana, medical marijuana cards, and medical marijuana prescriptions and recommendations in Wyoming