Transporting marijuana from state to state is illegal, whether crossing state lines in a car or sending a package of marijuana products in the mail. Consumers need to be aware that if a package containing marijuana is mailed, both the send and the receiver can face prosecution from both states.The consequences of breaking these laws could result in fines and up to five years in prison, depending on the amount.
To be considered driving under the influence of marijuana, you’ll need to have at least five nanograms per milliliter of THC in your bloodstream. As a driver in Washington, you automatically give your consent for drug testing if you’re arrested. However if you refuse the test, you can still face fines and jail time. Bottom line? Avoid smoking and driving to stay on the right side of the law.
Neither dispensaries, processors, nor private growers are allowed to grow their own marijuana without looking at a hefty fine of up to $10,000 and five years behind bars, regardless of whether or not there is intent to sell.
Purchases include both cannabis and cannabis-infused products along with paraphernalia such as pipes, lighters and papers, making most recreational marijuana dispensaries a one-stop smoke shop. When it is time to light up, however, make sure you’re not anywhere near a school, park or public transportation, otherwise you could be subject to a fine.
Customers can purchase up to one ounce of cannabis flower at a time.The limit for concentrates is seven grams; for edibles it is 16 ounces; and for liquids it is 72 ounces. This is also the limit you can have on your person at any time. If you have any more than this, it’s possible the law will see this as “intent to distribute” and impose jail time or a hefty fine. Medical marijuana patients, however, can have up to 24 ounces of marijuana and grow up to 15 plants as long as they have a valid prescription from their doctor.
Anyone over the age of 21 with a valid ID from any US State (or international passport) can legally purchase marijuana in Washington State, although some local jurisdictions have banned dispensaries within their city limits.
In fact, the only businesses that are strictly regulated to cultivate marijuana in Washington are licensed grow facilities, who deliver the product to dispensaries after harvest.
When it comes to smoking marijuana or consuming cannabis products, it’s against the law to light up in any public place. This means that you can’t smoke a joint on the sidewalk, in a state or federal park, or in any other public place, including private property if it’s close enough to a public space where people can smell the smoke. The best places for consumers to light up are in private homes, medical marijuana collective social clubs, or at marijuana friendly hotels. Remember, discretion is key!
There’s no way around it. To purchase or smoke marijuana in Washington, you need to be at least 21 years of age or older. If a minor is caught consuming marijuana, they could incur fines, suspension of a driver’s license, and even drug rehab. In fact, minors are not even allowed inside a marijuana dispensary in Washington. Having said this, minors with medical issues can receive a medical marijuana prescription from their doctor.
Legal information about medical and recreational marijuana laws in Washington, including Seattle, Spokane and Tacoma.
WSLCB officials do not have the authority to change the taxes. Any change to the tax structure would have to come from the legislature.
Our rule-making system is a public process and we engage citizens along the way. Like hiring, the best way to keep up to date on the process is to register for email notifications. We will be sending out timelines and requests for public comment using email.
What is the WSLCB doing to ensure public safety, especially preventing access by minors?
Commercial general liability or commercial umbrella insurance (if necessary for adequate coverage) is required for all licensees under WAC 314-55-082. Under subsection (1), licensees must at all times carry and maintain commercial general liability insurance and if necessary, commercial umbrella insurance for bodily injury and property damage arising out of licensed activities. This insurance shall cover such claims as may be caused by any act, omission, or negligence of the licensee or its officers, agents, representatives, assigns, or servants. The insurance shall also cover bodily injury, including disease, illness and death, and property damage arising out of the licensee’s premises/operations, products, and personal injury. The limits of liability insurance shall not be less than one million dollars.
Can I still be drug tested now that marijuana is legal
Note: Recent legislation allows local governments to pass an ordinance to allow for a reduction in the 1000-foot buffer requirements to 100 feet around all entities except elementary and secondary schools and public playgrounds.
Effective July 1, 2015, tax reforms defined in HB 2136 change the existing marijuana excise tax structure. A 37 percent marijuana excise tax must now be collected exclusively at the retail level. In addition, B&O taxes on the production and local retail sales taxes apply.
Are there any restrictions on advertising?
How is it going to be taxed?
FAQs on Marijuana Frequently Asked Questions about Marijuana Subtopics (links) Licenses When can I buy marijuana legally? Recreational marijuana sales to the public began