The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) oversees the Oklahoma medical cannabis program. On August 6, 2018, Republican Gov. Mary Fallin signed and approved emergency rules and regulations submitted by the OSDH.
The application fee is $100. Patients who receive Medicaid or Medicare benefits pay a reduced fee of $20.
Medical marijuana was legalized in Oklahoma in 2018 when voters approved Oklahoma State Question 788 , or the Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative, on June 26. This initiative made Oklahoma the 30th state to legalize cannabis for medicinal or recreational use.
Delivery services are not currently authorized by the OSDH under Oklahoma marijuana laws .
The application fee for temporary licenses is $100. Applications and payment are collected through the OMMA’s website . Temporary applicants are required to provide digital copies of their out-of-state medical marijuana license, as well as proof of identity. It takes 14 days to receive a temporary license identification card. Temporary licenses are valid for 30 days, but cannot exceed the expiration date of the out-of-state license. A temporary license can be renewed every 30 days for $100.
Authorized patients and their designated caregivers may purchase medical cannabis from a state-licensed dispensary. If patients are unable to make the transaction themselves, they may also designate one caregiver to purchase and transport the medical cannabis on their behalf. Children younger than 18 can designate two caregivers who are parents or legal guardians.
- Digital copy of proof of Oklahoma residency
- Digital copy of proof of identity
- A clear, color, full-face digital photograph valid for use in U.S. passports
- Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form, dated within 30 days of application submission
- If applicable, proof of Medicaid or Medicare enrollment
- Application fee of $100, or $20 for Medicaid and Medicare enrollees
There is no list of qualifying conditions, nor any specified criteria for patients to receive a physician’s recommendation. According to SQ 788, “The physician must recommend a medical marijuana license according to the accepted standards a reasonable and prudent physician would follow for recommending or approving any medication.”
All Oklahoma medical marijuana purchases will be assessed 7% sales tax at the point of sale.
View the medical marijuana laws & regulations for Oklahoma.
Medical marijuana growers, including any business engaged in or investing in a growing operation must undergo criminal background checks in order to apply for a commercial grower license. Background check requirements include officers, investors, directors and stockholders of the related business. Investors are not permitted to remain undisclosed. All growers and business officers must be disclosed for criminal background checks and for residency confirmation.
All batches of harvested medical marijuana in Oklahoma must be inspected and tested to identify contaminants and determine chemical content with strict limits on a number of different metrics before being sold or transported. Medical marijuana that does not meet safety standards must be destroyed.
Oklahoma regulations provide specific security measures required for licensee requirements that include for example, fence height requirements (eight feet total with spikes or barbed wire features around outdoor areas or greenhouses), facility door security requirements, location restrictions and restrictions on public visibility of grow operations.
Growers must do monthly reporting to comply with licensing rules. Also, record keeping requirements include a duty to maintain certain records for three years or more.
All batches of harvested medical marijuana in Oklahoma must be inspected and tested to identify contaminants and determine chemical content with strict limits on a number of different metrics before being sold or transported. Medical marijuana that does not meet safety requirements through testing must be destroyed and properly disposed by growers.
Growers of medical marijuana in Oklahoma, termed under the rules for “commercial growers,” are classified as a “Medical Marijuana Business” requiring a “commercial license.” Commercial growers may only sell or transfer medical marijuana to licensed Oklahoma processors and dispensaries.
Grower license applicants may also apply for a transporter license to move marijuana to points of sale or have another party move it on the grower’s behalf. Transport of medical marijuana requires both a transporter license and a valid transporter agent license for drivers.
Grower licenses are valid for twelve months and must be renewed annually under OMMA rules. An Oklahoma medical marijuana growers license attorney can help you gain the assurance that your long-term investment in a growing operation will not be shut down by a shortfall in your annual growers license renewal.
Growing cannabis in Oklahoma for sale as medical marijuana requires a license under the rules of the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA). A skilled marijuana business attorney can provide the knowledge required to keep your valuable grow in compliance with OMMA rules.
Commercial grow licenses through the OMMA in Oklahoma; medical marijuana lawyer representing license applicants and licensees facing annual renewal mattters