Posted on

marijuana laws in mississippi

Marijuana laws in mississippi

Despite it’s conservative background, Mississippi is making progress when it comes to fair access to cannabis. Mississippi also has a unique history with cannabis, as Ole Miss (University of Mississippi) has been the country’s sole producer of federally legal marijuana in the United States. Learn more about Mississippi marijuana laws below.

Progress may be on the horizon in the state. Advocates are currently working to collect 100,000 signatures in order to get Ballot Initiative 48 in front of voters in the 2016 election.
Stay up to date on the latest state legislation, referendums, and public opinion polls. Our Marijuana Legalization Map allows you to browse the current status of medical and recreational marijuana laws in other U.S. states and territories.

Is marijuana legal in Mississippi? No. However, while Mississippi is unlikely to pursue full legalization of marijuana any time soon, the state has had decriminalization policies in place since 1978. Under the decriminalization policies, possession of up to 30 grams of marijuana is punishable only by a fine of up to $250. However, repeat offenses and possession of greater amounts can lead to jail time.
Cultivation of cannabis is illegal in Mississippi outside of the University of Mississippi’s tightly regulated growing program for research
Possession and sale of 30 grams and above is a felony punishable by jail terms ranging from 3 years to 30 years and fines ranging from $3000 to $1000,000. If sale is made to a minor (and that too within designated areas such as schools and churches) carries double fines and jail terms. The state of Mississippi also imposes minimum mandatory sentences on possession of recreational marijuana, the highest being 10 years in case of possession of 5kg or more.
Medical marijuana is illegal in Mississippi, in spite of a very limited low-THC law being adopted in 2014. As with most “Low THC” medical laws, only patients with intractable epilepsy qualify for access to the cannabis oil, which is provided by the University of Mississippi. The cannabis oil must contain less than 0.5% THC.
Updated September 2019

Hemp-derived CBD products are legal under Federal Law in the United States; however, individual state laws are dynamic and fluid. Individual states may enact their own laws governing hemp-derived CBD.

With more states legalizing the use of marijuana it can be hard to stay up to date on Mississippi marijuana laws. Click to learn more about marijuana laws in MS!

The use of a gun in the commission of any drug crime or possession of a gun at the time of arrest for a drug crime doubles both the maximum allowable period of incarceration and the maximum fine for any given offense.

Possession of between 500 grams and 1 kilogram is a felony punishable by 4-16 years imprisonment and/or a maximum fine of $250,000.
Using, or possessing paraphernalia is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a maximum fine of $500. This does not apply to individuals convicted of possession of 30 grams of marijuana, approximately one ounce or less; in that case the possession punishment would be the only penalty.

Possession of 5 kilograms or more is a felony punishable by 10-30 years imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $1,000,000.
Possession of between 30 and 250 grams is a felony punishable by a maximum of 3 years imprisonment and/or a maximum fine of $3,000, or by up to one year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1000.

  • Miss. Ann. Code § 41- 29- 139 (b)(2)

Possession of between .1g and 2g of hashish is a felony punishable by a maximum of 3 years imprisonment and/or a fine no greater than $50,000.
The fine for the offense can also be doubled in this situation. A subsequent conviction under this statute will lead to the imposition of the maximum allowable fine and incarceration period.

The sale to a minor or within 1,500 feet of a school, church, or other designated area is a felony that carries with it a doubling of the incarceration period and the fine.

NORML – Working to Reform Marijuana Laws Offense Penalty Incarceration Max. Fine Possession 30 g or less (first offense) N/A N/A $ 250 30 g or less (second