The Missouri Legislature in 2014 passed HB 2238 , which created the Missouri Hemp Extract Registration Program (MHERP). It allowed Missouri residents diagnosed with intractable epilepsy a registration card that allowed legal possession, purchase, and use of hemp extract with: no more than 0.3% THC by weight, included at least 5% cannabidiol (CBD) by weight, and contained no intoxicating substances.
Currently, Missouri weed laws for medical marijuana are administered by the Missouri DHSS which oversees the medical marijuana program and released final rules detailing how the program operates.
- HB 2054, which passed in 2014, explicitly states that industrial hemp is not considered a controlled substance. It also specifies that no one who has been convicted of a drug-related crime can grow hemp.
- HB 2238, also passed in 2014, makes it legal for the DOA to grow industrial hemp for use in research. It also allows for hemp extract to be used to treat certain types of epilepsy.
- HB 2034, which passed in 2018, allows for a licensing program to regulate industrial cultivation, harvesting, and processing of hemp. Throughout 2019, state authorities have been refining and rolling out the program . Businesses that want to participate should be able to begin applying for an industrial license in the fall of 2019.
Delivery is allowable under Missouri weed laws, and is considered in Amendment 2 as a component of the broad term “medical use.” The general provisions of the full rules include that delivery will be defined as “for the benefit of a qualifying patient to mitigate the symptoms or effects of the patient’s qualifying medical condition.”
State laws do not allow a patient with an out-of-state medical marijuana card or certification to possess medical marijuana in Missouri.
Missouri requires caregivers to be at least 21 years old and have have significant responsibility for the well-being of a qualifying patient. A caregiver may administer medical marijuana to as many as three patients. A patient may A single patient can appoint up to two caregivers.
The DHSS began accepting applications to cultivate, manufacture, test, transport, or dispense cannabis on Jan. 5, 2019. Missouri allows for vertically integrated operations to apply. The application fees are not refundable, and an application doesn’t guarantee a license. See the FAQ page for updates .
In 2018, the federal Farm Bill removed hemp from the list of controlled substances and effectively legalized hemp and hemp products nationally. Despite this, the MHERP remains in place for medical marijuana patients in Missouri. According to Missouri state authorities who spoke to Weedmaps, all rules and regulations established through the MHERP are intact and operational.
If a patient possesses an amount of marijuana between the possessor’s legal limit and twice the legal limit, the patient may be fined $200 and have their medical identification card revoked.
View the cannabis & CBD laws & regulations for Missouri.